Campaspe mayor is unopposed

October 12, 2016

Campaspe Shire mayor Leigh Wilson (right) will be re-elected unopposed next month.

SIXTEEN candidates are standing for the Campaspe Shire election next month.

Chief executive Jason Russell said there was a good mix of people on the ballot paper after nominations closed yesterday.

‘‘From our point of view it is good to see a good mix of current and past councillors, as well as some people we haven’t seen stand before,’’ he said.

‘‘It’s encouraging to see passionate people stand for their community.

‘‘I would like to congratulate Leigh (Wilson from Rochester ward), Adrian (Weston from Waranga ward) and Leanne (Pentreath from Western ward), who have been unofficially re-elected.’’

Of the current councillors, Ian Maddison, Emma Bradbury and Carol Howell have stepped down.

Meanwhile councillors Paul Jarman, Neil Pankhurst and John Zobec are seeking re-election.

Echuca candidates (in ballot order) are Cr Jarman, Thomas Weyrich, Annie Vickers, Kristen Munro, Eric Grumont, Peter Williams, Rohan Burgess and Daniel Mackrell.

Five people will contest the Kyabram ward. They are (in ballot order) Cr Pankhurst, Vicki Neele, Cr Zobec, Russell Longuehaye-Hooper and Neil Repacholi.

Both the Echuca and Kyabram wards have three vacancies, while Rochester, Waranga and Western have one.

The election will be declared on Monday, October 31.

More in 2016 Campaspe Shire Election
Login Sign Up

Dummy text